Skip to content

Making Waves in PSE

October 2, 2009

 

 

You’ve reached an old link.  The making waves tutorial can now be found here.  Go to the tutorials page for a list of all available tutorials.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 12:41 pm

    This is fabulous! Thanks. I’ll definitely put this to use in my LOs!

  2. October 3, 2009 5:57 pm

    What a great tutorial! Thank you!!

  3. Jackie (tettletop20) permalink
    October 3, 2009 6:00 pm

    Thank you so much for this, Misty! You rock!

  4. christine permalink
    October 3, 2009 6:03 pm

    WOW..I have been wanting to do this forever, thanks so much Misty!!!

  5. Kim permalink
    October 3, 2009 8:07 pm

    Awesome tutorial Misty!! Thanks a bunch!!

  6. esther_a permalink
    October 3, 2009 11:23 pm

    Great tutorial. I like to think I’m quite proficient in PSE, but had no idea on how to do this! Thanks Misty!

  7. esther_a permalink
    October 3, 2009 11:28 pm

    Hmm. I have a question… How do I subscribe to your blog? I can’t see where to do it! I thought I had, but what I subscribed to was the comment feed! Ooops

    • October 3, 2009 11:41 pm

      I added the RSS Feed icon in the right sidebar. Does that work for you? If you are still having trouble, let me know.

      • esther_a permalink
        October 4, 2009 2:49 am

        Perfect! Thanks Misty :)

  8. Jenni aka Ozegirl permalink
    October 4, 2009 2:39 am

    Just in time – I was wondering how to make my own waves and have been experimenting but could not find a way to do it. Thanks so much Misty.

  9. mary ellen permalink
    October 4, 2009 11:41 am

    wonderful tut Misty thanks

  10. October 5, 2009 1:04 am

    Your tutorials are great – keep them coming! I appreciate the time you put into the lessons and for sharing them with all of us! They’re quick and easy for me to get my head around when I don’t have a lot of time.

  11. October 5, 2009 1:09 am

    Cool tut! Thanks, like the new blog also.

  12. kathybolduc permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:32 pm

    Thank you so much for the great tutorial.

  13. October 8, 2009 3:05 am

    I am so excited to try this! Thanks!

  14. Trish permalink
    October 25, 2009 6:03 pm

    Hi Misty,
    Thank you again for a fab tutorial, you always make it look so simple.
    I have photoshop 7.0 & was wondering if this tutorial could be used to make a vertical wave as a template for a quick page where i could then drag & drop a full sized photo into it? If this is possible, are you able to explain how i would go about achieving this?

  15. Tracy permalink
    September 5, 2010 6:05 am

    Hi Misty,

    Thank you so much! I just successfully used the lessons above in PS CS5e without having to change anything. I can’t believe it was this easy….thank you for all that you do for us!!

    Hugs from Fort Lauderdale,
    TracyB

    • Tracy permalink
      September 5, 2010 6:06 am

      Trish,
      The lesson that Misty posted IS the .png wave that you are talking about. After you crop the image, save it as a .png file and then open it in the layout you want to use it in….HTH.

  16. October 29, 2010 11:30 am

    Thank you SO MUCH! I’ve been trying to figure out how to make my own wavy shapes (instead of purchasing them) and have been searching all over the internet. I’m going to try it out now.

  17. Trish permalink
    February 28, 2011 10:04 pm

    A great tutorial except that I’ve drawn the rectangle and spanned across the page. I now have marching ants. So HOW DO I STOP THOSE in order to make the wave? It’s probably something small, but being new to this, it’s a step I’m not familiar with :)
    Thank you so much

    • February 28, 2011 10:17 pm

      You shouldn’t have marching ants at all. It sounds like you are using a selection tool instead of the shape tool to draw your rectangle. You should draw your rectangle with the shape tool, which has a solid rectangle icon in the tools palette.

      As an aside you can always keystroke Ctrl+D or go to your menus Select>Deselect to get rid of any selection.

      • Trish permalink
        March 1, 2011 9:10 pm

        Wow…I WAS doing it wrong. Thank you sooooo much. I luv your tutorials.

        Using photoshop 7.0, have you written a tutorial on how to turn a photo into background paper? I’d so love to learn that :)

  18. March 1, 2011 9:41 pm

    Trish, I have one on blending; http://mistycatodesigns.com/2010/12/blending-made-easy/

    Take a look and let me know if that is what you are looking for.

  19. April 2, 2013 6:07 pm

    Useful information. Fortunate me I discovered
    your website by chance, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate didn’t happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  20. May 13, 2013 12:29 pm

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every
    one is getting more from this web page, and your
    views are good in support of new people.

  21. June 5, 2013 3:47 am

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly
    this weblog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specially the remaining section :) I handle such info a lot. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thanks and good luck.

  22. August 1, 2013 10:14 pm

    Howdy! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice
    data youve gotten right here on this post. I might be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  23. August 4, 2013 11:48 pm

    I love to share knowledge that will I’ve built up through the 12 months to assist enhance team functionality.

  24. August 5, 2013 4:25 pm

    I have a confident analytical attention to get detail and may anticipate difficulties before
    these people take place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

